Generic Goals in detail

There are two Generic Goals (required components) for each Process Area in the TMMi.

  • GG2 – Institutionalise a managed process
  • GG3 – Institutionalise a defined process

Points to remember:

  • Each Generic Goal has a number of associated Generic Practices (expected components).
  • Generic Practices from the higher Maturity Levels being assessed apply also to the lower Maturity Levels.
  • Lower Maturity Level Generic Goals are also applicable to higher Level Process Areas.
  • The Generic Goals and Generic Practices are largely derived from CMMI.
  • The Generic Goals are organised in numerical order.
  • The Generic Practices are also organised in numerical order under the Generic Goals they support.

Note that the Generic Goal from CMMI, GG1 Achieve Specific Goals, is not taken into account since this only relates to the continuous representation of the CMMI and therefore has no relevance to the staged representation of TMMi. Otherwise the numbering scheme of the CMMI is adopted fully to avoid confusion for organisations using both CMMI and TMMi.

The level of capability being targeted will determine which Generic Goals and Practices are applicable.

When trying to reach Maturity Level 2 the Process Areas at Level 2 and Generic Goal 2 only (with its accompanying Generic Practices) are applicable.

Generic Goal 3 and Maturity Level 2

Generic Goal 3 is only applicable when trying to reach Maturity Level 3 or higher. This means that when you have already achieved a Maturity Level 2 rating, to achieve the Maturity Level 3 rating you must return to Maturity Level 2 Process Areas and apply Generic Goal 3 and its accompanying Generic Practices.