Maturity Level 3 – Defined

Testing is no longer a phase which follows the completion of development – it is fully integrated into the project life cycle with testing starting as early as the requirements definition phase. There are 5 Process Areas defined for this level.

There are 5 Process Areas in this Level.

  • PA 3.1 Test Organisation
    • The testing function is established with an organisation of highly-skilled individuals who are responsible for testing
    • The test group is responsible for managing test assets and ensuring that the process is continually improved through an understanding of current strengths and weaknesses
  • PA 3.2 Test Training Programme
    • A test training programme must exist to support the test organisation
    • Knowledge and skills are maintained and developed to ensure that test tasks and roles are performed efficiently and effectively
  • PA 3.3 Test Life Cycle and Integration
    • A set of organisational test process assets and standards exist, are established and correctly maintained
    • Test and development processes are fully integrated, enabling a coherent test approach across multiple test levels
  • PA 3.4 Non-functional Testing
    • This Process Area ensures that non-functional testing has been considered and incorporated into the test planning, design and execution processes with the purpose of improving test process capability
  • PA 3.5 Peer Reviews
    • The Peer Reviews Process Area ensures that work products meet their specified requirements by having reviews performed on them
    • The purpose of this is to:
      • Remove defects as early as possible and
      • Gain a better understanding of work products and
      • Understand how defects can be prevented