Types of TMMi component

The TMMi Model has a number of different components. They fall into three categories:

  1. Required Components
  2. Expected components
  3. Informative components

Required components

Required components describe what an organisation must achieve to satisfy a Process Area.

This achievement must be visibly implemented in an organisation’s processes.

The required components in TMMi are:

  • Specific Goals and
  • Generic Goals.

Goals achievement is used in assessments as the basis for deciding if a Process Area has been satisfied.

Expected Components

Expected components describe what an organisation will typically implement in order to achieve a required component.

Expected components guide those who implement improvements or perform assessments.

Expected components are:

  • Specific Practices and
  • Generic Practices.

Before Goals can be considered achieved, the Practices as described (or acceptable alternatives) are present in the planned and implemented processes of the organisation.

Informative Components

Informative components provide details that help organisations get started in thinking about how to approach the expected components and required components.

Informative components are:

  • Sub-practices
  • typical work products
  • notes
  • examples
  • references.